Still not good ..


Me Left Knee : The Story

Did a slow 8km last night with some friends at the campus. The knee was only OK for the 1st half of the run. My bad for walloping an 8 after a long hiatus from running. Knee oh knee.. I gotta save you !!!! Its an ultimate test for me not being able to train unrestricted. Well, that’s what a friend told me. If you cannot train unrestricted, than better do something, and better skip some races. That’s what I’ve been doing the past few months. Skipping this race and that race, but still making it for the Port Dickson Triathlon with minimal training and yet, super satisfied with the running time ! Scraped of 7 minutes from last year’s time (for the running leg). Btw, PD Tri was my first tri race after Ironman Langkawi 09 !

Anyways, I still need a lot of pondering and mantra-ing to do about my left knee. Been patient too long. Boleh jadi gila. But so far, boleh handle lagi la.It’s not an injury per se. In fact, its a condition which I’ve developed over the years. First it was the patella maltraking and the plicae inflammation, (inflammation due to a few bike accidents!).Β  Now that’s been fixed after a few months of intense

Where the problem lies ; the medial menisci or knee cartilage of the left knee. (This image is of the right knee).
Where the problem lies ; the medial menisci or knee cartilage of the left knee. (This image is of the right knee).

recovery and physio, the only thing which can’t be fixed by physio and rehabilitation. Here’s what my doctor said from my last visit.. confirmed slight cartilage injury on the left knee due to the rubbing of the cartilage membrane to the patella. Doctor adviced no need to pakai the knee brace; can worsen the condition. Continue with physio, glucosamine and icing em knees after work out. Continue knee strengthening exercises to help fix my previous patella condition (it can recur).Surgery option to remove excess membrane. Another MRI scan due next month. The last MRI was before Ironman, after a bike crash ..

So that’s the history of my knee. Tak pernah terjadi apa2, and suddenly knew of so many things a few days before my maiden Ironman. It’s a weird feeling, because I didn’t feel any pain or sensation at all during the race. πŸ™‚ Not at all. Even after the race. It’s only a month after that I felt that something is not right. If you saw me running macam orang tempang during the NB15k, this year that’s due to my inflamed plicae. I rested around 2 months after that, before doing the PD Tri. Knee is ok. Just that I can’t put pressure on it, I took it easy on the bike section, and running route was generally flat, so no problem there again. Problem is, if i don’t fix the cartilage thingy, I WILL have problem, a more serious problem. SomeΒ  info here; Each knee joint has two crescent-shaped cartilage menisci. These lie on the medial (inner) and lateral (outer) edges of the upper surface of the tibia bone. They are essential components, acting as shock absorbers for the knee as well as allowing for correct weight distribution between the tibia and the femur.

So there goes.. Not easy to share this kinda thing . But I gotta live bearing in mind that no one is exceptional. I don’t see it coming from the last few years of training and racing. Accumulative force and impact , through the years of lifting heavy things, well, that’s what I’d like to believe. Angkat meja, angkat groceries banyak2 at one go, and of course, the training. Stairs, hills, hiking (my favourites). But anyways, I’m fretting no more. πŸ™‚ The next time I’m posting about my knee story, hopefully it will be after I’ve fixed the cartilage prob.Just pray the best for me. Aight people ?! πŸ™‚

But other workout still continues. Cycling, swimming and some core exercise. Lucky thing I have started training after all. If not I’ll be sitting and sleeping away this peaceful Ramadhan. Not 100% peaceful. Torture to the body.But I’ve been eating healthy ! Nothing heavy for berbuka puasa, except for twice ! No rendangs, rice, and the oily stuff. I had kueh only twice too.Eating healthier than usual is part of my daily routine now. Hahhaa..more fruits and veges. Less fat, oily stuff. More olive oil !

I haven’t even visited the pasar Ramadhan this year. Last year I went only once. But not all the things that they sell at Pasar Ramadhan are not healthy. If pandai pilih (if you’re wise to choose), no big deal lah kan. πŸ™‚ So to kengkawanku semua, choose to eat right ok πŸ˜› Here are a few links to guide us on how to choose to eat healthier !!!

Balance Diet

Asian Diet


Ramadhan and Diet

White Rice : The Story

Some FAT story

(a must read)

Doing it the Malaysian style : ‘Eh why u so fat ah?’

Okay, missJeweLz signing off now. Have a great long weekend dear weekender friends !!!!!! God Bless.

p.s. i was suppose to go to Klang for this talk ‘Why you don’t have to die of heart attack’.. but I decided not to go coz I woke up late, and that I’ve lotsa academic work to do today !!!! 😦

One thought on “Still not good ..

Add yours

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑